Friday, March 25, 2011

Looking for the Perfect Match

No, not an actual match, boyfriend match or soccer match, but roomie match. Ugh as some of you know I have decided I'm going to have to get mmyself a roommate to help with some of the cost of living in the exorborant (and totally unnecessary) cost of DC. While I have cherished indefinitely the ability of living by myself, I've also had minor freakouts about spending half my salary on rent, not saving for the future, and not being able to afford to go on trips and vacations. Whats the fun in having 20 days of vacation/sick leave if you can't afford to do anything fun?!?!?! It sucks I tell you!

So I've been scowering Craigslist to find the perfect apartment/roommate situation. To no avail I haven't found anything promising. I decided to take matters into my own hands to ensure that I can find a good match. So, without further adu (spelling?), here is my fantastic ad:

Hello future roomie!

Short version: Looking for a responsible female roommate ages 22-32 willing to split a $1600-2300 (with utilities and parking) 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment. Me: 28 female responsible adult who works in the city as a Consultant. I currently live in Pentagon City so I’d like to stay somewhat in the area. Oh and my lease is up April 28-May 1stish timeframe, so I’d need to find a place to live within that timeframe. I’d like to sign a year lease as well.

Longer version: Me: I’ve been scouring Craigslist with no avail for the perfect roomie situation. I am looking for a 2 bedroom/2bath situation (in no way referencing Jersey Shore) in either a current apartment or a perfect spot found with a new roomie. I want to stay in the Pentagon City/Crystal City location within walking distance to the metro, or I am willing to live in a building with a shuttle to the CC/Pentagon City/Pentagon metro stations. I also have a car so parking is a must. I am clean and will keep the common areas clean as well. I’d even spring for a maid! (oh the luxuries in life). I am moving from my own studio so I have everything needed for an apartment (except for a big comfortable couch, double points if you have one! And a nice big TV is TRIPLE points!) but I am looking to cut down on my costs and find the ideal roommate. I am 28 (yet somehow 24 at heart) and like to watch girlie movies, trashy tv, and read a good book here and there. I like exploring the city since I’ve only been here for about a year. I run and go to the gym so that I can indulge in beer/wine/ice cream whenever I choose. I really like HHs and Sunday brunch too. You: A fun loving female who is also looking for a fantastic roommate. Clean and neat who likes to cook and drink. You should be social and have your own friends but enjoy drinking an occasional boxed wine on the couch.

Caveats: NO pets. I love them but my allergies do not :/ And I have an out of town boyfriend that visits every other weekend, give or take (bonus that means I’ll be gone on the off weekends!). Oh, and I’m looking for a roommate, not someone who just simply holes up in their room and only comes out to pay the rent on the 1st of the month.

If this ad looks interesting, please email me back with a little about yourself/situation/and where you live or would like to live. In order to get to know each other better, I’ve included some fun questions to answer if you’re interested. Choose to answer all or none, my feelings won’t be hurt.

  • It is 8:00PM on a Saturday, what are you drinking/listening to/watching?

  • How do you feel about small social gatherings at the apartment?

  • It is December 17th. What does our apartment look like? Is there a Christmas tree? Lights? Mistletoe?

  • Do you like posters on the wall? Or framed pictures?
  • Name three things in your refrigerator.

  • You are invited to an 80s party. What are you wearing?

  • I mean, who WOULDN'T want to room with me?!?!?!? I have gotten back one really fun response so we'll see where that leads! Here are the answers to my (AWESOME!) questions:

    -If it's 8 o'clock and I'm home, I'm drinking wine and either watching trashy tv or a movie. Otherwise, I'm out with friends at a concert, or in a low key bar/pub, definitely not a club person. I'm looking forward to getting to know DC as I haven't been there since I was in middle school.

    -All for social gatherings, it'd be a great way for me to meet new people!

    -As for Dec 17th, it would probably depend how busy I've been at work. I haven't really had a place to call my own in several years so decorations sound comforting and nice but I am not one of those that can start singing carols the day after Thanksgiving (I used to teach elementary school so it burned me out a bit).

    -I love to travel and take pictures so my personal walls will be decorated with travel photos, I'm not as picky about common areas but would probably lean towards framed pictures.

    -Cheese, Wine, Cheese

    -A few years ago it would have been an AMAZING bright blue 80's prom dress, sadly I gave that away when I moved to Australia a few years ago.

    She sounds like a winner! Stay tuned to find out. Actually, I am sort of excited by the thought of a roommate. As long as she likes to drink and watch Disney Princess movies with me and cleans up after herself, and of course pays her half of the rent.

    1 comment:

    1. That girl sounds like the perfect roommate for you! Hope it works out! I'll be excited to see your new place... :)